top of page

#20: Volunteer. Check!

  1. Ride in a helicopter

  2. Go horseback riding

  3. Wear a bikini

  4. Visit Canada

  5. Ride in a hot air balloon

  6. Get my credit score up to 750!

  7. Go bra-less in public

  8. Ride in a convertible

  9. Try a new food

  10. Go ice skating at Rockefeller Center

  11. Visit a winery

  12. Go skiing

  13. Marry my best friend

  14. Stomp grapes

  15. Write poetry again

  16. Watch the Harry Potter series (I’ve never seen a single movie)

  17. Change my last name

  18. Take a tour of DC

  19. Lose 30 pounds

  20. Volunteer

  21. Trademark “HolddtheMayo”

  22. Go to a Day Party

  23. Do Karaoke

  24. Participate in a marathon

  25. Get matching tattoos

  26. Make a BIG purchase

  27. Fast for 30 days

  28. Kiss a dolphin

  29. Ride on a jetski

  30. Silence the haters

  31. Make a name for myself, socially

  32. Go to an Eagles game IN Philly

  33. Get my motorcycle license

  34. Get promoted at work

  35. Take care of my mother

Looks like I took off running with this list! I didn’t want to waste any time getting started and I sure haven’t. This past weekend, I completed one of the tasks on my list: #20. Volunteer. I had the TIME OF MY LIFE!

The month of June is Pride Month and through my job, I volunteered to help during the festivities of #CapitolPride in Washington, DC. I didn’t know what to expect or exactly what my role would be, but I’m so glad I took the time from my weekend to take part. The Pride Parade took place on Saturday and my job, Kaiser, participated in the Parade with a float of our own. Our float was decked out with all things exuding Pride! It was colorful and fun. To top it all off, we had Batala (an all-women Afro-Brazilian band that plays Samba-Reggae rhythms) playing on our float. I felt the band was the highlight of the parade! All volunteers sported Kaiser shirts, which were offered in an array of colors that reflected the rainbow flag, which represents Gay Pride.

When I chose to volunteer, I was under the impression I would be helping in the background. I had no idea I would actually be in the parade. I felt like a celebrity! The spectators were looking on and waving to us and screaming for us as we walked by. It was such a rush! I danced to the beat of our drums the entire 2 hours it took us to walk from one side of the city to the other. I saw all kinds of people in the crowds; bright hair, outrageous make-up, barely there costumes and even a few ladies who were completely naked! It was definitely an experience I will never forget.

On Sunday, I volunteered for the festival, which was a lot more laid back than the parade. During the festival, multiple vendors were set up giving out freebies and letting patrons know what their role was in the festivities and giving details about their companies. There were also tons of food trucks and a beverage garden. And waaaaaay at the back of the festival was a stage, which was home to a few celebrity drag queens and artists performing for the crowd; Keri Hilson, Alessia Cara and Troye Sivan. Again, another great day to honor the festivities.

I’m so glad I was able to partake in this weekends activities. I have already told myself I will be volunteering again next year. I’ve found there are plenty of opportunities through my job to help in my community and I am all for it! I have to thank my friend, Octavia, who came out and volunteered in the parade with me, as well as my love Aaron, who was a good sport and attended the festival with me. He was completely out of his comfort zone and around people he would not normally be around. But, he was a champ and I commend him for trying something new. Together, we are conquering new things with this list and I am thankful to have him by my side along the way.

What’s something you would volunteer your time to?

XOXO,

💋TJ

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page