top of page

John Mayer Said it Perfectly...

I'm just waiting on the World to change!

We have all seen the craziness and ratchettness of 2020...


Can we get a do-over....?


This year has brought about a lot of change, uncertainty and chaos. But you know what....I don't think I would change a thing about it. 2020 has allowed people to think outside of the box. When 2020 handed us lemons, we made lemonade. We really didn't have a choice. When jobs were lost, people had to find a way to make ends meet. That brought about creativity, determination and drive like no other! I know for me it did. And while I didn't lose my job, I used this opportunity to become my own boss and see what its like to run a business that I benefit from.


This year has also showed me how to unify with my people. I've always tried to stay neutral among all things politics and religion. But once both were tested this year, I knew I had to take a difference stance. The continued oppression of African-Americans has really had its toll on me. While I always knew blacks were treated differently, seeing the true colors of police officers and other human beings who don't share the same skin tone as myself, made me see things in.a whole new light.


This year is also the first year I have been heavily involved and interested in politics. Why? Because of everything mentioned beforehand. We need better and we got better. For all of 2020, I have been waiting on the World to change, as John Mayer put it. We were living in a World with a President who made racism okay. Because of him, racists (who were previously closeted) felt comfortable enough to show true face and disrespect anyone who didn't look like them. Shameful. I was afraid, legitimately afraid that my children would grow up in the same world as my grandparents and great-grandparents. Ironically, my grandparents and great-grandparents fought so that my children wouldn't have to live in the same world as them, yet here we are.


I'm waiting on the World to change, and I know it will. But it should have never gotten BACK to a point where we would need for there to be change again!


XOXO,

TJ


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page