top of page

#20YearsLater

On October 10, 1995, I was a 10 year old girl. I was asked by my grandmother, the Chief of Protocol to the Honorable Minister Louis Farrakhan, how I felt about reciting a poem by the late Dr. Maya Angelou at the Million Man March. I had no idea what this March was about or how inspiring it would be. I had no idea that there would indeed be a MILLION people I would be speaking in front of. But like everything else in my life, I always jump right in without knowing exactly what I am getting myself into. This was a big deal, and I had NO IDEA the history I would be contributing to. It was serious! I had to go to an acting coach and all, just to repeat a poem! But I needed to know what to emphasis to get my point across in this speech. It was interesting, to say the least, and an experience I will never forget. Today, 20 years later, we revisit the same spot, the same purpose and the same Leader. Today was the 20th anniversary of the Million Man March-a movement called Justice or Else! Although I am now 3000 miles away from the place where I was first made a part of history, people have been reminding me all day of the small footprint I left on this March back in 1995. I was tagged in a post on Facebook that showed my speech and I wanted to share it here. I want to be able to keep this forever so I can share the history with my son. He knows I participated, but he’s never seen the video and now I have the opportunity to show him. When I was 10, I didn’t understand the impact. All I knew was I was on TV and when I went back to school, to where a news crew followed, I gained a lot more friends, lol. People were all of a sudden interested in me. But now that I understand fully what I was a part of, I will forever be thankful to my grandmother for allowing me this historical moment! #justiceorelse! http://www.c-span.org/video/?c4535100/tiffany-mayo-million-man-march

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page