top of page

A DIY Don’t! 

If you were to ask me what a mother can do, typically I’d say everything. But, there are some things a mother should leave to the professionals. Cutting hair is one of them!

This evening my son somehow got gum stuck in his hair. Instead of going online to find a remedy to remove the gum, my gut instinct and panic mode reaction was to cut it out. Bad idea! My son has, or had, so much hair that trying to cut one chunk out made the rest of his hair very uneven. So, I decided to keep cutting. Another bad idea! It got to the point where I had no choice but to cut it down to the scalp, to even it out, but that just made the situation worse. I just kept cutting as my son begged me to stop because he knew that I had no idea what I was doing. Poor thing! He got up and looked in the mirror and was almost in tears. I felt so bad! He told me I made him look ugly and he was now embarrassed to go to school. If it hadn’t been so late in the evening I would have surely taken him to the barber shop, but that option wasn’t available to us. I did what I thought would remedy the situation, but boy was I wrong. Now, he will be staying home from school tomorrow so I can take him to get a proper haircut when I get off work.

The moral of the story is: although us moms in the world are super women and can do just about anything, there are some areas of expertise that are out of our scope and cutting hair is not in my wheelhouse. I need to stay in my lane! My son will never let me live this down and he will never forget the day I butchered his hair. I can’t wait until tomorrow when I can get this all figured out professionally, and I am back on his good side! I would post pictures, but he would definitely kill me. I’ll save him the embarrassment he is already enduring.

Tip: if you need to get gum out of hair, use cooking oil or baby oil so the gum slides out easily. I looked this up after the fact. This should have been a step that was followed beforehand. 😒.

💋 TJ

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page