top of page

An Open Letter to My Mother

Dear Mom,

I know everyone always talks about how they have the best mother in the world, but when it comes to you, that statement couldn’t be more true. You have been my angel in disguise, you have been my savior and you have been my hero. There isn’t a person walking this Earth who could fill your shoes. You have always looked at me in the most loving way, you listen to all of my thoughts and crazy ideas and you never judge me. That is the most amazing feeling for a child to receive from their parent.

When I was growing up, I didn’t think I would ever be able to see eye-to-eye with you or call you my “best friend”. We butted heads on so many different issues and I was such a “demon-child”, who deserved to have her ass whooped! But instead of turning against me or shunning me away, you loved me harder and made me realize that I am special and I am important and that my life matters. I have never had someone put so much faith in me as you do. You make me realize my worth, even when the rest of the world makes me feel worthless. You never make it seem as though you are obligated to be there for your children because we are you children. You let us know that you do the things you do for us because you want to. And no matter the cards that the rest of the world has dealt us, you stand firm and remain our biggest cheerleader.

I have seen you go through so much, yet you always come out on the other side with a smile on your face and a praise report to share. I know we always make fun of your strong faith in God and we tease you by calling you “Pastor Mayo”, but the faith you have and the way you are not afraid to let others know of your relationship with God is so awe-inspiring. You are my HERO! I don’t know how I got so lucky to have such a phenomenal woman as my mother. I thank God everyday for you, Maria! People think it’s weird that I am so comfortable and close with you, sharing every detail of my life. But it’s so easy when you have someone who listens and truly cares and wants to know what’s going on in your life. You pretty much know EVERYTHING there is to know about me. You know things even my closest friends will NEVER know, and I wouldn’t change that for the world. The thought of not being able to talk to you everyday, not being able to hear your wild stories or share mine with you and not being able to joke around with you, scares me.

“I realized when you look at your mother, you are looking at the purest love you will ever know.” -Mitch Albom

It wasn’t until I had Jalen that I began to TRULY cherish you, the way I should have from the very beginning. I realized that you sacrificed a lot to make a life for your family. The struggles I’ve been through, I’ve always had you there to help me. I can’t imagine how you’ve gone through the things you’ve gone through without the outpouring of support that you show me. You’ve been through the ringer, but with grace and dignity, you always push through. I can only hope to be half the woman you are. I admire your courage and your tenacity. I love that you conform for no one. I love that you stand your ground. More importantly, I love that you realize everyone is a work in progress and it’s not your place to judge. If I accomplish nothing else in life, I’d at least like to be able to say that I learned to embody those same values from you and live my life accordingly. I’ve literally seen you come from nothing, yet make the best of every blessing God has bestowed upon you. I want to be the same role model you’ve been to me, to my son and my siblings. You really are a blessing and I am beyond grateful that God chose me to be your daughter. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

I love you Mom!

Love Always,

Tiffany

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page