top of page

Entitlement!

Entitlement

Let me just take a moment to vent….

I love living in California, I really do. I wouldn’t change a thing about it. I love the weather, I love all the places I can go and the things I can explore, I love that there are endless possibilities and I love that there is never a dull moment. The one thing that I do not like about California is some of the people (in certain demographics) and their entitlement. I have never come across so many people who feel they are so entitled. The clients I have encountered who have left me speechless; it’s beyond belief. I know I work in the more “glitzy” parts of town, and boy does it show, but I never in a million years have seen some of the behaviors I have seen in the past 4 years. From clients who are inconsiderate about appointments needing to be rescheduled; “I was really looking forward to that and I am upset that you guys are doing this to me. This is unacceptable, I want to complain!” I’m sorry, I’ll be sure to relay that to your therapist who is in the HOSPITAL! Like, really?! Shit happens, life happens and the World is not perfect. I know it’s disappointing, but after we tell you the situation, you still go on a rampage? How cute. Then, you have the clients who are stuck up and rude. What a life you must live. “I don’t want to be with that therapist because they have long hair and a beard and I just think it looks unprofessional.” Oh, I’m sorry, was his hair or beard massaging you today? Because if it is, I completely understand! NOT! As an employer am I suppose to discriminate against someone based on their appearance? As long as his hygiene is in tact, I’m good! It baffles me everyday; the things that come out of people’s mouths. There is definitely a different breed out out here on the West Coast. It’s kind of a bittersweet thing. When I first moved out here, I loved the people. I loved the diversity. I loved the different cultures. Now, I’m just in awe….for so many reasons! The difference in culture is something to take into consideration when moving to a completely different atmosphere. You have to adjust to your surroundings. I can say that I have definitely adjusted, not really in the best way-because my anger management is through the roof these days! I don’t know if that’s from dealing with all the entitlement or from adjusting to getting older and being set in my ways. But adjusting is key and if I want to continue to live out here-and continue to put people in their place- I am going to have to deal with adjusting! Vent over!

Oy Vey!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page