top of page

Follow the Signs

They are everywhere.

Even when you least expect them, something pops up, subliminally, to guide you. Whether it’s a decision that needs to be made, or a particular path you should take; never ignore the signs. You may or may not believe them, but they are real. It only takes one situation, one sign, to make you see the light.


A little while ago, I saw the picture featured on this post, and seeing it couldn’t have come at a better time. It was at a time in my life where all I was concerned about was making sure everyone else was happy, that everyone else around me was satisfied. But who was doing that for me? Bingo! NO ONE! So, it was at that moment I had to really, really read into this sign and make an executive decision.  Although I often look out for others, it doesn’t mean others will look out for me. So, my executive decision: I have to care for self first, before all else–I can’t rely on someone else to make me happy. It’s not about everyone else, as selfish as that sounds, but it’s true! People can bring you all sorts of happiness, but with that, they can also bring you all sorts of disappointment. If you disappoint yourself, you have no one to blame but yourself. I’d rather blame my unhappiness on myself any day of the week, than give someone else that power.

Even though I had this new mindset, it didn’t mean I would stop doing for others. It just meant I would look at it from a different perspective: “would the same people I’m looking out for do the same for me, if needed?” Most times, I could easily answer that question with a big, fat NO! And in a grander scheme of things, was I only seeking the “you scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours” kind of relationships? Whether they be friendships, family or otherwise? It shouldn’t be like that. But, we do live in a very dog-eat-dog kind of society. So, with that being said, that takes me back to my original thought: who is going to make sure I’m happy?

Myself.

Self-happiness comes in all forms: treating yourself every once in a while, finding solid and lifelong friendships, staying connected with family or taking time out for yourself. But at the end of the day, you have to make sure that you’re being someone that makes YOU happy. For me, this blog brings much happiness. It allows me to pour my thoughts out and share them with the world. It’s an outlet where I can be myself. And that makes me the most happiest! In a world full of facade and fake people, being you is the only leg you really have to stand on. If you can’t find happiness in that, you won’t find happiness in much else.


“Be someone that makes you happy.”

💋 TJ

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page