top of page

Hateration 

Mary J. Blige once said, “don’t need no hateration, holleration in this dancery”. In a nutshell, she doesn’t need all the extra drama in her life. I couldn’t agree more. No matter what you do in life, there’s always someone to be a hater to your every move. Whether it’s someone hating on how you live your life; the kind of car you drive, the house you live in, the way you decorate your home or how you spend your money. Or someone hating at work; because you do your work in a timely manner, or you meet your quotas or your clients adore you. Or someone hating on your relationships; whether that be a friendship or a romantic relationship and who you love, how you love them and why you love them. The point is, someone is always trying to check you for what you’re doing. But, why?


People are usually so worried about what others are doing that they can’t enjoy their own lives. I’ve had to deal with this on more than one occasion. Although this is something that shouldn’t even be a topic, it teaches you to have thick skin. If I let everyone’s opinion of my life get to me, I’d be a pretty down on themselves, lonely person. I’d constantly be beating myself up and making sure I’m satisfying everyone else. But that’s not how life is supposed to be lived. I’m supposed to live my life according to the things I want. At the end of the day, it is my life and ultimately my opinion that matters.

I’ve learned that the people who have something to say about what you’re doing, are usually miserable about their own lives, so they have to talk down on yours to make themselves feel better. At my age, I would think that friends my age, or even family members, would have outgrown these kind of shenanigans, but apparently there are some people who may be miserable their entire lives. That’s fine and all. But the gag is, I don’t need anyone commenting or telling me what I should or shouldn’t do; how I should or shouldn’t raise my son. I’ve done pretty darn good on my own this darn far, so those opinions are irrelevant. Let those people continue to be miserable, as you go on living a happy, and unbothered, life.

You don’t need the hateration!

💋 TJ

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page