top of page

I Want My Mommy!

The moment you wake up in the morning and your entire world feels congested, the only thing you want to do is have your mommy near. Moms know how to remedy any situation. I woke up this morning feeling like hell! My eyes were low, my nose was stuffed, my head was hot and I had chills. All I wanted to do was stay in the bed. However, that wasn’t an option. So, I hopped in the hot shower, where I wanted to stay forever, and pulled my shit together. It’s hard when you’re sick and YOU have to be a mom too. For once, I just want someone to take care of me. I don’t want to pick anyone’s clothes out, make anyone’s bed up, make sure their backpack is ready for school and their breakfast is made. I just want to plop down on my own bed and curl up in a ball. I just want MY mommy! She always seems to have the answers. She is able to tell me what I should do to bring my fever down or fix a runny nose. More importantly, she gives me her recipe to her chicken noodle soup and tells me if she could tuck me in bed she would. Now I want my mommy even more! What would we do without our mothers? What would I do without mine? While I love my parents equally, there’s something about a mother’s love that is so forgiving, so genuine and so warming, it can never be duplicated. Your mom is YOUR mom, and you only get one. Maybe that bond is so special because you know what your mother’s heart sounds like from the inside. Maybe it’s from the bond you had in the womb, a bond you cannot create with your father. Bottom line is, when I’m being a big baby and my body is not in 100% tip-top shape, all I want is my mother. I want her nurturing, her advice, her love and her support. If I could go back and live with my mother on a full-time basis, I would! So many people long for the day they are able to get out of their mom’s house and be on their own. But, there’s no shame in wanting to be by her side at all times. We aren’t promised forever, so I want to cherish each moment. For now, I just need some comfort as I sit her breathing through my mouth, because my nose is stuffed beyond belief, and I lay my head on my desk because it is so heavily full and congested.

All I want is my Mommy!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page