top of page

Movie Review: A Star is Born

Wow.

Wow, is all I can say in regards to A Star is Born. I had been waiting to see this movie for a very long time and I finally saw it last night! I couldn’t wait any longer. I decided to go by myself and I am actually glad I did because I blubbered like a baby.

This movie gives all the feels. It makes you happy, it makes you sad; there are times of anger and moments of sorrow. But most importantly, it makes you fall in love. You fall in love with the characters and the idea of love. I felt every moment they shared together. Their love stood the test of time and went through every up and down you can think of. From addiction to rehab to arguing and mean things being said out of anger. Even down to outsiders coming in between their relationship, they never gave up on each other, they always worked through it.

Watching the movie reminded me a lot of my husband and I. How our story feels like a love story, right out of the movies. How we have had to overcome a lot and how many people didn’t want to see us together, but we pushed through. Even now, there are many people who would prefer we not be together. But, they don’t understand our love. They don’t understand how things came to be. They merely go off of assumptions and made up stories. But, that doesn’t stop us from focusing on each other and the love we share.

There is also tragedy in the movie (SPOILER ALERT). When one of them passes, it makes me think about my relationship with my husband. If he were to ever die, if he were to ever leave me before his time, I would be devastated. I wouldn’t know how to go on and I wouldn’t know how to function in life without my better half! I instantly started crying, thinking of how my life would be changed forever if my husband were to die the way the character did in the movie. Without me being able to say goodbye to him, without one last kiss, without seeing that smile one more time. My world would be crushed, and I feel for anyone who has ever had to go through that.

So, as you can see, this movie brought about a lot of emotions, both good and bad! I’m glad I was finally able to watch the movie. It taught me a lot. I didn’t think I would get the lesson out of it that I did, but I am so glad there was a lesson to learn. If you haven’t seen the movie, you should! You won’t be disappointed. If you like music and love, this is the perfect film for you. And if you’ve seen the movie, tell me your thoughts on it in the comments below!

XOXO,

TJ

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page