top of page

Valentine’s Day Blues 

WELP, it’s February 1st. You know what that means! Valentine’s Day is right around the corner…

Yes, I am about to be one of those people. The one who has a “woe is me” pity-party about this overrated “holiday” (that’s just the bitterness talking). But seriously, I just want to feel loved too! Who come up with this? (that was a rhetorical question. I already know the answer).

I think I’ve celebrated Valentine’s Day with a significant other twice…in my entire life! It was nice to actually take part in the festivities, but I haven’t really seen much action since. While I believe you should show love and appreciation to your significant other all year long, it would be nice to take part in the action again…someday, one day. My mom and dad are so cute because they usually send me cards every year. Thanks, parentals. But it would be nice to get flowers or a card or even chocolates from someone who didn’t feel obligated to do it because they created me.

One year I did receive flowers from an ex. It was completely unexpected and I couldn’t believe he did that. We hadn’t been together in YEARS, but the gesture was very sweet of him. The anticipation of knowing that something was at home waiting for me made his gesture that much better. I couldn’t wait to get home and see the flowers, once I knew they had been delivered. They were the most beautiful flowers I had ever seen! The fact that we didn’t even live in the same state anymore and he felt the need to do that for me was special. Although the flowers have long since died, I still have the card that was attached, as a reminder of the very sweet things he said to me.

Last year was one of those “we don’t need a man!” GALentine’s Day celebrations. A close friend and I wined and dined ourselves, got our nails and feet done and took a trip to Arizona. It’s hard to believe that it’s been a year since that happened, but we had a great time and enjoyed the experience of taking a road trip together. It was nice, but felt very much like a feminist movement; like we were protesting this day-again, with the bitterness. But in all honesty, if you’re single, it’s hard to not feel down the closer that we get to February 14th. The holiday is pretty much THROWN in your face. Every store you go into, every restaurant, every Starbucks…there is red and pink and hearts spewed all over the place. You can’t escape it! And I try to justify the day being about love, so I do something fun with my kid because, well, I DO indeed love him. But let’s face it, who are we kidding? It’s not the same as the standard of intimacy this day seems to suggest. 😒.

I haven’t decided how I’ll celebrate my singles awareness day this year; what sappy chick flick and what flavored pint of ice cream I’ll dive into. Hell, maybe I’ll head down to the strip and mingle with random tourists and drown my sorrows in a tall glass of Michelob Ultra and watch as people walk around with balloons and other random gifts they’ve received. Or maybe I’ll stay my butt in the house and spare myself the depression. Lol. I’m totally kidding about all that. I’m not going to have a pity-party over ONE day in the year. I know my time will come, when I’ll be the one rubbing it in everyone else’s face. But in the meantime people, let’s tone it down a little for this “Bitter, party of one” over here :-).

💋 TJ

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page